Comparison | GP locums

Looking for a LocumDeck alternative? An honest comparison

If you want organisations you have never worked for to find you and book you, LocumDeck is built for that and Sessional is not. If what you want is your paperwork run for you, from sessions to invoices that chase themselves, NHS pension Forms A and B and an appraisal record, Sessional is the alternative, and its Basic plan is free with no end date.

Below, LocumDeck and Sessional side by side on each decision a GP locum makes, using the sourced data from our comparison of five GP locum software tools.

Checked on . Product and pricing facts come from vendor pages read on 14 September 2026; data export terms from pages read on 26 September 2026. Each source below shows its own date.

What does LocumDeck do well?

A booking marketplace where practices book GP locums directly, with invoicing, pension forms and a credentials store. Practices pay nothing; the locum pays a monthly usage fee and a fee per Instant Book session, unless their ICB has bought NASGP's ICB option.

In our honest judgement, LocumDeck is the better fit when:

  • Your main problem is being found and booked by practices you do not yet work for.
  • You want practices to see your dates, credentials and terms and book you without a conversation.
  • Your ICB has bought NASGP's ICB option, which covers the usage fee and the Instant Book fees for locums working in its practices.

Where is Sessional a better LocumDeck alternative?

Personal administration for locums in 17 UK healthcare professions: sessions, invoices with chasers, expenses and tax, NHS pension forms for GPs, and a free appraisal record. No job board.

Sessional is likely the better fit when:

  • You want a plan that stays free for light use rather than a trial that ends.
  • Unpaid invoices are your main headache and you want them chased automatically (Plus or Pro).
  • You keep an appraisal record, reflections and CPD evidence and want them in the same place as the sessions.
  • Your accountant works in Xero (Pro), or you want your sessions and invoices out as CSV, the account as JSON and the appraisal pack as PDF at any time.
  • You are not a GP, or you work across professions.

The biggest practical difference is chasing. On LocumDeck, automatic reminders for unpaid invoices are not described in the documents we could read; on Sessional Plus and Pro they are sent for you (see automatic invoice chasers). For pension forms, see how Sessional pre-fills Forms A and B.

Personal administration or finding work

Do I need a tool that runs my paperwork, a tool that gets me booked, or both?

LocumDeck
Confirmed

Both, with booking at the centre. Practices browse your dates, credentials and terms and book you directly through Instant Book; invoicing, pension forms and a credentials store are included. Practices pay nothing to use it.[4][5]

Sessional
Confirmed

Administration first: sessions, invoices, expenses, tax, pension forms, professional record. For work, a public profile in the locum directory and a booking request form organisations use without an account. There is no job board and no marketplace; organisations that already know you book you through it.[2]

Free plan and its limits

Can I use it for nothing, and for how long or how much?

LocumDeck
Confirmed

No free plan is described. A "Three-month free introductory period for new members". Practices pay nothing, and under the ICB option in NASGP's pricing document an ICB can pay so that locums working in its practices have free use, Instant Book fees included.[5][4]

Sessional
Confirmed

Basic is free with no card and no end date: up to 3 shifts and 2 invoices a month, a CPD evidence store of 50 items, CSV and PDF exports, and the whole appraisal record. Plus and Pro have a 14-day trial the first time you subscribe; a card is taken and nothing is charged until the trial ends.[1]

Total price

What will twelve paid months cost at the standard monthly rate, and what is charged per session on top?

LocumDeck
Confirmed

£12 a month for the GP locum, including VAT, plus £15 for each session booked through Instant Book, paid by the locum by Direct Debit at the end of the month the session was worked (NASGP pricing document, April 2024). A year at the monthly fee alone is £144; each Instant Book session adds £15. Where an ICB has bought NASGP's ICB option, both are covered for locums working in its practices. NASGP's own membership page served only its title as readable text on the day we checked, so whether these are the current prices is not confirmed.[4][6]

Sessional
Confirmed

Plus £14.99 a month or £149.99 a year paid annually. Pro £24.99 a month, which adds Xero sync and the API. No per-session, per-booking or percentage fees. At the monthly rate a year of Plus is £179.88 and a year of Pro is £299.88.[1]

Invoice chasing

When a practice does not pay, does the tool chase, or do I?

LocumDeck
Not confirmed

Invoicing is included. Automatic reminders for unpaid invoices are not described in the documents we could read.[4][5]

Sessional
Confirmed

On Plus and Pro an overdue invoice is chased by email at day 14, 21 and 28, each chaser attaching the original PDF, with a 72-hour cooldown per invoice so a chaser cannot fire twice in quick succession. Basic shows paid and unpaid without chasing. Replies to an invoice land on that invoice as a conversation on every plan.[2]

NHS pension forms and where they work

Will it produce the locum pension forms for my nation, and which ones?

LocumDeck
Confirmed

"integrated paperless NHS pension forms", with Form A signed by the practice inside the system. Whether Form B and Form SOLO are produced, and which nations are covered, is not stated in the documents we could read.[4][5]

Sessional
Confirmed

For GPs on Plus and Pro, Form A and Form B are generated from your logged sessions and follow the pension year (1 April to 31 March). England and Wales are filled onto the official NHSBSA forms, ready for PCSE; Scotland onto the NSS Contractor Finance Form A and Form B; for Northern Ireland, where HSC publishes Word and Excel templates, you get a transcription sheet with the computed figures to copy across. Form SOLO is not produced.[2][3]

Appraisal records

Can I keep my appraisal record, reflections and CPD evidence in it, and take them out?

LocumDeck
Not confirmed

The G-Cloud listing mentions a peer feedback system and access to CPD resources. An appraisal record, reflections or a CPD evidence store are not described in the documents we could read.[5]

Sessional
Confirmed

On every plan including free Basic, permanently: a professional record built from your logged sessions in the GMC scope-of-work shape, reflections, learning needs, a CPD evidence store (50 items on Basic, unlimited on Plus), colleague and patient feedback reports with a verification code (reading what you have collected is free; starting a round and sending invitations needs Plus or Pro), and the appraisal pack with its export.[1][2]

Exports and switching

How do I bring my history in, and how do I get everything out if I leave?

LocumDeck
Not confirmed

Exports and importing existing records are not described in the documents we could read.[5][4]

Sessional
Confirmed

In: past sessions and invoices import from CSV with a template and per-row errors, and an invoice built with the free invoice tool imports at sign-up. Out: sessions and invoices as CSV, invoices and the appraisal pack as PDF, and the whole account as JSON with a manifest of your document files (the files themselves download from their own pages, except message attachments, which support supplies on request), on every plan; expense and earnings CSV exports on Plus and Pro; Xero sync and a REST API on Pro. Deleting the account offers the export first and erases after a 30-day cooling-off period.[2][1]

Who should stay on LocumDeck?

Stay if being booked is your problem rather than paperwork, if you rely on Instant Book for work from organisations you do not know yet, or if your ICB has bought NASGP's ICB option so the fees are covered. Sessional has no job board or marketplace, so moving would lose that route to work. Nothing stops you using both.

How do I switch from LocumDeck to Sessional?

Exports are not described in the documents we could read, and NASGP's own LocumDeck pages could not be read without signing in. Look for a download option in your account; if there is none, send the letter below.

Where to send it: The National Association of Sessional GPs (NASGP), which runs LocumDeck. Its privacy notice gives the data protection contact.

Our guide to switching to Sessional explains what we can import and how, and has the data request letter ready to copy. Past sessions and invoices import from CSV, and anything else you send we enter with you by hand, free, on every plan.

Reference notes | Questions

Questions about LocumDeck alternatives

What is LocumDeck?

A booking marketplace where practices book GP locums directly, with invoicing, pension forms and a credentials store. Practices pay nothing; the locum pays a monthly usage fee and a fee per Instant Book session, unless their ICB has bought NASGP's ICB option. It is run by NASGP (National Association of Sessional GPs).

How much does LocumDeck cost compared with Sessional?

LocumDeck: £12 a month for the GP locum, including VAT, plus £15 for each session booked through Instant Book, paid by the locum by Direct Debit at the end of the month the session was worked (NASGP pricing document, April 2024). A year at the monthly fee alone is £144; each Instant Book session adds £15. Where an ICB has bought NASGP's ICB option, both are covered for locums working in its practices. NASGP's own membership page served only its title as readable text on the day we checked, so whether these are the current prices is not confirmed. Sessional: Plus £14.99 a month or £149.99 a year paid annually. Pro £24.99 a month, which adds Xero sync and the API. No per-session, per-booking or percentage fees. At the monthly rate a year of Plus is £179.88 and a year of Pro is £299.88.

Does LocumDeck produce NHS pension Forms A and B?

"integrated paperless NHS pension forms", with Form A signed by the practice inside the system. Whether Form B and Form SOLO are produced, and which nations are covered, is not stated in the documents we could read. Sessional: For GPs on Plus and Pro, Form A and Form B are generated from your logged sessions and follow the pension year (1 April to 31 March). England and Wales are filled onto the official NHSBSA forms, ready for PCSE; Scotland onto the NSS Contractor Finance Form A and Form B; for Northern Ireland, where HSC publishes Word and Excel templates, you get a transcription sheet with the computed figures to copy across. Form SOLO is not produced.

Can Sessional get me booked by new organisations the way LocumDeck does?

Not in the same way. Administration first: sessions, invoices, expenses, tax, pension forms, professional record. For work, a public profile in the locum directory and a booking request form organisations use without an account. There is no job board and no marketplace; organisations that already know you book you through it.

How do I move my records from LocumDeck to Sessional?

Exports are not described in the documents we could read, and NASGP's own LocumDeck pages could not be read without signing in. Look for a download option in your account; if there is none, send the letter below. Send the request to: The National Association of Sessional GPs (NASGP), which runs LocumDeck. Its privacy notice gives the data protection contact. Sessional's founder then imports your history with you, free, on every plan.

Try the admin side for free

Start on Basic, log a few sessions and send an invoice. If it suits you, Plus adds automatic chasing and pension forms; if it does not, you have lost nothing and your data exports on every plan. Read more about Sessional for locum GPs.

Sources

  1. Sessional: Sessional pricing page, read on 14 September 2026.
  2. Sessional: Sessional features page, read on 14 September 2026.
  3. Sessional: Sessional help: NHS pension forms, read on 14 September 2026.

    Sessional is the publisher of this page. Its own cells are statements about its own product, not independent evidence.

  4. LocumDeck: NASGP, LocumDeck pricing document on the G-Cloud 14 Digital Marketplace (dated 30 April 2024), read on 14 September 2026.

    Written by NASGP for public sector buyers. Dated April 2024, so prices may have moved; NASGP's own membership page could not be read without signing in on the day we checked.

  5. LocumDeck: LocumDeck listing on the G-Cloud 14 Digital Marketplace, read on 14 September 2026.
  6. LocumDeck: NASGP, professional membership options, read on 14 September 2026.

    On 14 September 2026 the page served only its title as readable text to a visitor who was not signed in, so current membership prices could not be verified from it.

On getting your data out

Sessional publishes this page, so treat what it says about Sessional as our claim about our own product. Every statement about another provider comes from that provider's own pages or documents on the date shown; where we could not find something we say 'not confirmed' rather than assume it is missing. Tell us what is wrong and we will correct it.