Comparison | GP locums

airGP alternative: when Sessional fits better, and when it does not

airGP is the cheaper paid tool and it includes a shift board where you search for shifts and apply; Sessional's paid plans cost more and it has no job board. Sessional is the better airGP alternative if you want overdue invoices chased for you, NHS pension Forms A and B filled in for England, Wales or Scotland (with a transcription sheet for Northern Ireland), a free appraisal record, or one tool across several professions.

Here is each decision side by side, from the sourced data in our comparison of GP locum software.

Checked on . Product and pricing facts come from vendor pages read on 14 September 2026; data export terms from pages read on 26 September 2026. Each source below shows its own date.

Where is airGP the better choice?

A GP locum tool built by a GP: sessions, bulk invoicing, pension logging for PCSE in England, expenses, tax exports and a shift board where GPs search available shifts and apply.

  • You want the lowest paid monthly fee quoted on this page, before add-ons or booking fees, and you work in England under PCSE. Sessional Basic is free but capped, and LocumDeck's quoted price dates from April 2024.
  • You want to search and apply for shifts and keep the admin in the same tool.
  • You will be filing Making Tax Digital submissions from the tool and are happy with the add-on.

On price, plainly: airGP's standard £9.99 a month is less than Sessional Plus at £14.99 or Pro at £24.99. If a low monthly fee and a shift board are what you need, and you work in England under PCSE, airGP is likely the better fit.

When is Sessional a better airGP alternative?

Personal administration for locums in 17 UK healthcare professions: sessions, invoices with chasers, expenses and tax, NHS pension forms for GPs, and a free appraisal record. No job board.

  • You want a plan that stays free for light use rather than a trial that ends.
  • Unpaid invoices are your main headache and you want them chased automatically (Plus or Pro).
  • You keep an appraisal record, reflections and CPD evidence and want them in the same place as the sessions.
  • Your accountant works in Xero (Pro), or you want your sessions and invoices out as CSV, the account as JSON and the appraisal pack as PDF at any time.
  • You are not a GP, or you work across professions.

Two differences come straight from airGP's own pages. It says "The platform does not generate PDF pension forms" and that its pension support is for GP surgeries in England using PCSE Online; Sessional fills Forms A and B for England, Wales and Scotland and gives Northern Ireland locums a transcription sheet (see NHS pension forms in Sessional). And automatic reminders to the organisation are not mentioned on airGP's pages; Sessional Plus and Pro send them (see automatic invoice chasers).

Personal administration or finding work

Do I need a tool that runs my paperwork, a tool that gets me booked, or both?

airGP
Confirmed

Both: sessions, invoicing, pension logging, expenses and tax exports, plus a shift board where you search the available shifts and apply, and the practice manager accepts the application. Whether a booking fee applies to the GP is not stated on the pages we read.[4][5]

Sessional
Confirmed

Administration first: sessions, invoices, expenses, tax, pension forms, professional record. For work, a public profile in the locum directory and a booking request form organisations use without an account. There is no job board and no marketplace; organisations that already know you book you through it.[2]

Free plan and its limits

Can I use it for nothing, and for how long or how much?

airGP
Confirmed

No free plan appears in the pricing section. A three-month free trial with no card, with unlimited sessions, invoices and expenses during the trial; a referral gives both parties three months free.[4]

Sessional
Confirmed

Basic is free with no card and no end date: up to 3 shifts and 2 invoices a month, a CPD evidence store of 50 items, CSV and PDF exports, and the whole appraisal record. Plus and Pro have a 14-day trial the first time you subscribe; a card is taken and nothing is charged until the trial ends.[1]

Total price

What will twelve paid months cost at the standard monthly rate, and what is charged per session on top?

airGP
Confirmed

£9.99 a month, cancellable; £7.99 a month for the first year with a code shown on the home page. Making Tax Digital submissions are an optional £4.99 a month with a 12-month minimum. A year at the monthly rate is £119.88, or £179.76 with the add-on; with the first-year code, £95.88 or £155.76. Any fee for a session booked through the shift board is not stated on the pages we read.[4][5]

Sessional
Confirmed

Plus £14.99 a month or £149.99 a year paid annually. Pro £24.99 a month, which adds Xero sync and the API. No per-session, per-booking or percentage fees. At the monthly rate a year of Plus is £179.88 and a year of Pro is £299.88.[1]

Invoice chasing

When a practice does not pay, does the tool chase, or do I?

airGP
Not confirmed

Invoices can be marked as paid and payment status tracked "without manual spreadsheets". Automatic reminders to the practice are not mentioned.[4]

Sessional
Confirmed

On Plus and Pro an overdue invoice is chased by email at day 14, 21 and 28, each chaser attaching the original PDF, with a 72-hour cooldown per invoice so a chaser cannot fire twice in quick succession. Basic shows paid and unpaid without chasing. Replies to an invoice land on that invoice as a conversation on every plan.[2]

NHS pension forms and where they work

Will it produce the locum pension forms for my nation, and which ones?

airGP
Vendor states not offered

Pension contributions are logged for PCSE workflows in England. In airGP's own words: "The platform does not generate PDF pension forms." and "Pension support on airGP is currently for practices in England using PCSE Online for submissions." Scotland, Wales and Northern Ireland are not mentioned.[5][6]

Sessional
Confirmed

For GPs on Plus and Pro, Form A and Form B are generated from your logged sessions and follow the pension year (1 April to 31 March). England and Wales are filled onto the official NHSBSA forms, ready for PCSE; Scotland onto the NSS Contractor Finance Form A and Form B; for Northern Ireland, where HSC publishes Word and Excel templates, you get a transcription sheet with the computed figures to copy across. Form SOLO is not produced.[2][3]

Appraisal records

Can I keep my appraisal record, reflections and CPD evidence in it, and take them out?

airGP
Not confirmed

Appraisal, CPD and revalidation are not mentioned on the pages we read.[4][6]

Sessional
Confirmed

On every plan including free Basic, permanently: a professional record built from your logged sessions in the GMC scope-of-work shape, reflections, learning needs, a CPD evidence store (50 items on Basic, unlimited on Plus), colleague and patient feedback reports with a verification code (reading what you have collected is free; starting a round and sending invitations needs Plus or Pro), and the appraisal pack with its export.[1][2]

Exports and switching

How do I bring my history in, and how do I get everything out if I leave?

airGP
Confirmed

Out: sessions, invoices and reports as CSV, and a cooling-off period to export your data before account deletion. In: the FAQ says "No big migration needed", start logging your next session; importing existing records is not described.[4][5]

Sessional
Confirmed

In: past sessions and invoices import from CSV with a template and per-row errors, and an invoice built with the free invoice tool imports at sign-up. Out: sessions and invoices as CSV, invoices and the appraisal pack as PDF, and the whole account as JSON with a manifest of your document files (the files themselves download from their own pages, except message attachments, which support supplies on request), on every plan; expense and earnings CSV exports on Plus and Pro; Xero sync and a REST API on Pro. Deleting the account offers the export first and erases after a 30-day cooling-off period.[2][1]

How do I switch from airGP to Sessional?

Its FAQ says: "you can download your sessions, invoices, and reports as CSV while you have a valid subscription or active trial." Its privacy policy asks you to export invoices, expenses, mileage, pension records and tax records before closing your account. Download the CSVs first; they are the quickest route in.

If you need more than the CSVs, the request goes to: airGP LTD, Suite 106, 308 Holloway Road, London N7 6NJ, or contact@airgp.co.uk.

The switching guide sets out what imports automatically and what we enter with you, and the data request letter is ready to copy.

Reference notes | Questions

Questions about airGP alternatives

Is airGP cheaper than Sessional?

For a paid plan, yes. airGP: £9.99 a month, cancellable; £7.99 a month for the first year with a code shown on the home page. Making Tax Digital submissions are an optional £4.99 a month with a 12-month minimum. A year at the monthly rate is £119.88, or £179.76 with the add-on; with the first-year code, £95.88 or £155.76. Any fee for a session booked through the shift board is not stated on the pages we read. Sessional: Plus £14.99 a month or £149.99 a year paid annually. Pro £24.99 a month, which adds Xero sync and the API. No per-session, per-booking or percentage fees. At the monthly rate a year of Plus is £179.88 and a year of Pro is £299.88. Sessional Basic is free with no end date, but capped.

Does airGP help me find shifts?

Yes, and Sessional does not. Both: sessions, invoicing, pension logging, expenses and tax exports, plus a shift board where you search the available shifts and apply, and the practice manager accepts the application. Whether a booking fee applies to the GP is not stated on the pages we read.

Does airGP produce NHS pension Form A and Form B?

Pension contributions are logged for PCSE workflows in England. In airGP's own words: "The platform does not generate PDF pension forms." and "Pension support on airGP is currently for practices in England using PCSE Online for submissions." Scotland, Wales and Northern Ireland are not mentioned. Sessional: For GPs on Plus and Pro, Form A and Form B are generated from your logged sessions and follow the pension year (1 April to 31 March). England and Wales are filled onto the official NHSBSA forms, ready for PCSE; Scotland onto the NSS Contractor Finance Form A and Form B; for Northern Ireland, where HSC publishes Word and Excel templates, you get a transcription sheet with the computed figures to copy across. Form SOLO is not produced.

Does airGP chase unpaid invoices for me?

Invoices can be marked as paid and payment status tracked "without manual spreadsheets". Automatic reminders to the practice are not mentioned. Sessional: On Plus and Pro an overdue invoice is chased by email at day 14, 21 and 28, each chaser attaching the original PDF, with a 72-hour cooldown per invoice so a chaser cannot fire twice in quick succession. Basic shows paid and unpaid without chasing. Replies to an invoice land on that invoice as a conversation on every plan.

How do I move from airGP to Sessional?

Its FAQ says: "you can download your sessions, invoices, and reports as CSV while you have a valid subscription or active trial." Its privacy policy asks you to export invoices, expenses, mileage, pension records and tax records before closing your account. Download the CSVs first; they are the quickest route in. Then send them to Sessional and the founder imports them with you, free, on every plan.

See if Sessional suits you, free

Basic is free with no card: log sessions, send invoices and keep your appraisal record. Plus adds automatic chasing, pension forms and tax planning. Read more about Sessional for locum GPs.

Sources

  1. Sessional: Sessional pricing page, read on 14 September 2026.
  2. Sessional: Sessional features page, read on 14 September 2026.
  3. Sessional: Sessional help: NHS pension forms, read on 14 September 2026.

    Sessional is the publisher of this page. Its own cells are statements about its own product, not independent evidence.

  4. airGP: airGP home page (features, pricing and FAQ sections), read on 14 September 2026.
  5. airGP: airGP support, read on 14 September 2026.
  6. airGP: airGP, introducing airGP, read on 14 September 2026.

On getting your data out

Sessional publishes this page, so treat what it says about Sessional as our claim about our own product. Every statement about another provider comes from that provider's own pages or documents on the date shown; where we could not find something we say 'not confirmed' rather than assume it is missing. Tell us what is wrong and we will correct it.