Comparison | GP locums
GP locum software compared: Sessional, LocumDeck, Locum Organiser, My Locum Manager and airGP.
Which GP locum software should I use?
It depends on the job you need doing. To be found and booked by practices you do not yet work for, LocumDeck is built around that. For the GP SOLO form, Locum Organiser and My Locum Manager both state they produce it; Sessional does not. For the lowest published monthly fee, airGP is £9.99 a month, with pension logging for PCSE in England only. For automatic chasing of unpaid invoices, a plan that stays free for light use, an appraisal record beside your sessions, or work outside general practice, Sessional fits.
Which of these is for you
Sessional
Sessional Limited (the publisher of this page)
Personal administration for locums in 17 UK healthcare professions: sessions, invoices with chasers, expenses and tax, NHS pension forms for GPs, and a free appraisal record. No job board.
- You want a plan that stays free for light use rather than a trial that ends.
- Unpaid invoices are your main headache and you want them chased automatically (Plus or Pro).
- You keep an appraisal record, reflections and CPD evidence and want them in the same place as the sessions.
- Your accountant works in Xero (Pro), or you want your sessions and invoices out as CSV, the account as JSON and the appraisal pack as PDF at any time.
- You are not a GP, or you work across professions.
LocumDeck
NASGP (National Association of Sessional GPs)
A booking marketplace where practices book GP locums directly, with invoicing, pension forms and a credentials store. Practices pay nothing; the locum pays a monthly usage fee and a fee per Instant Book session, unless their ICB has bought NASGP's ICB option.
- Your main problem is being found and booked by practices you do not yet work for.
- You want practices to see your dates, credentials and terms and book you without a conversation.
- Your ICB has bought NASGP's ICB option, which covers the usage fee and the Instant Book fees for locums working in its practices.
Locum Organiser
Locum Organiser
A diary-first admin tool for GP locums: sessions, a monthly invoice per practice, pension forms A, B and SOLO, expenses and tax collation, with Lantum jobs reachable from the diary.
- You need the GP SOLO form as well as A and B.
- You want a long free trial before committing and the option to pause the subscription between spells of work.
- You already find work through Lantum.
My Locum Manager
My Locum Manager
Shift sharing and booking with practices plus automated admin: invoicing, pension forms A, B and SOLO for all four UK nations, mileage, expenses and reporting.
- You work in Northern Ireland or Scotland and want the pension forms for those schemes produced in the tool.
- You need the GP SOLO form.
- You want booking with practices and admin from one supplier at a flat monthly fee.
airGP
airGP
A GP locum tool built by a GP: sessions, bulk invoicing, pension logging for PCSE in England, expenses, tax exports and a shift board where GPs search available shifts and apply.
- You want the lowest paid monthly fee quoted on this page, before add-ons or booking fees, and you work in England under PCSE. Sessional Basic is free but capped, and LocumDeck's quoted price dates from April 2024.
- You want to search and apply for shifts and keep the admin in the same tool.
- You will be filing Making Tax Digital submissions from the tool and are happy with the add-on.
LocumDeck, Locum Organiser and airGP describe themselves for GP locums. My Locum Manager describes its staffing platform as "the only interoperable staffing platform for all staff types", while the features on its pages are GP-shaped (pension forms A, B and SOLO). Sessional covers 17 professions across six regulators. If you are not a GP, check each product's pages for your profession rather than assuming from this page.
Personal administration or finding work
Do I need a tool that runs my paperwork, a tool that gets me booked, or both?
- Sessional
- Confirmed
Administration first: sessions, invoices, expenses, tax, pension forms, professional record. For work, a public profile in the locum directory and a booking request form organisations use without an account. There is no job board and no marketplace; organisations that already know you book you through it. [2]
- LocumDeck
- Confirmed
Both, with booking at the centre. Practices browse your dates, credentials and terms and book you directly through Instant Book; invoicing, pension forms and a credentials store are included. Practices pay nothing to use it. [4][5]
- Locum Organiser
- Confirmed
Administration first: a diary that produces the monthly invoice, pension forms and tax records. Finding work runs through an integration with Lantum: you apply to Lantum jobs from the diary. [8][9]
Free plan and its limits
Can I use it for nothing, and for how long or how much?
- Sessional
- Confirmed
Basic is free with no card and no end date: up to 3 shifts and 2 invoices a month, a CPD evidence store of 50 items, CSV and PDF exports, and the whole appraisal record. Plus and Pro have a 14-day trial the first time you subscribe; a card is taken and nothing is charged until the trial ends. [1]
- LocumDeck
- Confirmed
No free plan is described. A "Three-month free introductory period for new members". Practices pay nothing, and under the ICB option in NASGP's pricing document an ICB can pay so that locums working in its practices have free use, Instant Book fees included. [5][4]
- Locum Organiser
- Confirmed
No free plan appears on the pricing page. A three-month free trial with no card and no obligation, then the subscription. You can pause the subscription and your data is kept for your return. [10][8]
- My Locum Manager
- Confirmed
No free plan appears on the pricing page. An eight-week free trial with no card details, then the subscription, which you can pause or cancel at any time. [13][14][11]
- airGP
- Confirmed
No free plan appears in the pricing section. A three-month free trial with no card, with unlimited sessions, invoices and expenses during the trial; a referral gives both parties three months free. [15]
Total price
What will twelve paid months cost at the standard monthly rate, and what is charged per session on top?
- Sessional
- Confirmed
Plus £14.99 a month or £149.99 a year paid annually. Pro £24.99 a month, which adds Xero sync and the API. No per-session, per-booking or percentage fees. At the monthly rate a year of Plus is £179.88 and a year of Pro is £299.88. [1]
- LocumDeck
- Confirmed
£12 a month for the GP locum, including VAT, plus £15 for each session booked through Instant Book, paid by the locum by Direct Debit at the end of the month the session was worked (NASGP pricing document, April 2024). A year at the monthly fee alone is £144; each Instant Book session adds £15. Where an ICB has bought NASGP's ICB option, both are covered for locums working in its practices. NASGP's own membership page served only its title as readable text on the day we checked, so whether these are the current prices is not confirmed. [4][7]
- Locum Organiser
- Confirmed
£15.99 a month, cancel at any time with no notice period or tie-in, pause allowed. No annual price was stated on the pricing page we checked. A year at the monthly rate is £191.88. [10]
- My Locum Manager
- Confirmed
£14 a month for unlimited use, cancel or pause at any time. "No booking fees, payroll or management fees". No annual price was stated on the pricing page we checked. A year at the monthly rate is £168. [13]
- airGP
- Confirmed
£9.99 a month, cancellable; £7.99 a month for the first year with a code shown on the home page. Making Tax Digital submissions are an optional £4.99 a month with a 12-month minimum. A year at the monthly rate is £119.88, or £179.76 with the add-on; with the first-year code, £95.88 or £155.76. Any fee for a session booked through the shift board is not stated on the pages we read. [15][16]
Invoice chasing
When a practice does not pay, does the tool chase, or do I?
- Sessional
- Confirmed
On Plus and Pro an overdue invoice is chased by email at day 14, 21 and 28, each chaser attaching the original PDF, with a 72-hour cooldown per invoice so a chaser cannot fire twice in quick succession. Basic shows paid and unpaid without chasing. Replies to an invoice land on that invoice as a conversation on every plan. [2]
- LocumDeck
- Not confirmed
Invoicing is included. Automatic reminders for unpaid invoices are not described in the documents we could read. [4][5]
- Locum Organiser
- Not confirmed
Invoicing is described ("A monthly invoice, sent to the practice in four clicks") and invoices can be tracked. Automatic reminders for unpaid invoices are not mentioned. [9][8]
- My Locum Manager
- Not confirmed
Invoices are generated and sent automatically, and the reporting suite is described so that "you will never miss another uninvoiced or unpaid session". Automatic reminders sent to the practice are not described. [14][12]
- airGP
- Not confirmed
Invoices can be marked as paid and payment status tracked "without manual spreadsheets". Automatic reminders to the practice are not mentioned. [15]
NHS pension forms and where they work
Will it produce the locum pension forms for my nation, and which ones?
- Sessional
- Confirmed
For GPs on Plus and Pro, Form A and Form B are generated from your logged sessions and follow the pension year (1 April to 31 March). England and Wales are filled onto the official NHSBSA forms, ready for PCSE; Scotland onto the NSS Contractor Finance Form A and Form B; for Northern Ireland, where HSC publishes Word and Excel templates, you get a transcription sheet with the computed figures to copy across. Form SOLO is not produced. [2][3]
- LocumDeck
- Confirmed
"integrated paperless NHS pension forms", with Form A signed by the practice inside the system. Whether Form B and Form SOLO are produced, and which nations are covered, is not stated in the documents we could read. [4][5]
- Locum Organiser
- Confirmed
"GP locum A, B and SOLO completed for you in seconds. We have versions for all countries." The countries are not itemised on the pages we read. [9][8]
- My Locum Manager
- Confirmed
Form A and GP SOLO are completed, signed electronically and emailed; Form B is created. The forms are "optimised for England & Wales, Scotland and Northern Ireland". [12]
- airGP
- Vendor states not offered
Pension contributions are logged for PCSE workflows in England. In airGP's own words: "The platform does not generate PDF pension forms." and "Pension support on airGP is currently for practices in England using PCSE Online for submissions." Scotland, Wales and Northern Ireland are not mentioned. [16][17]
Appraisal records
Can I keep my appraisal record, reflections and CPD evidence in it, and take them out?
- Sessional
- Confirmed
On every plan including free Basic, permanently: a professional record built from your logged sessions in the GMC scope-of-work shape, reflections, learning needs, a CPD evidence store (50 items on Basic, unlimited on Plus), colleague and patient feedback reports with a verification code (reading what you have collected is free; starting a round and sending invitations needs Plus or Pro), and the appraisal pack with its export. [1][2]
- LocumDeck
- Not confirmed
The G-Cloud listing mentions a peer feedback system and access to CPD resources. An appraisal record, reflections or a CPD evidence store are not described in the documents we could read. [5]
- Locum Organiser
- Not confirmed
No appraisal, CPD or revalidation record is mentioned on the pages we read. [9][8]
- My Locum Manager
- Not confirmed
CPD appears among membership benefits ("exclusive discounts, CPD and more"). An appraisal record or portfolio is not described on the pages we read. [12]
Exports and switching
How do I bring my history in, and how do I get everything out if I leave?
- Sessional
- Confirmed
In: past sessions and invoices import from CSV with a template and per-row errors, and an invoice built with the free invoice tool imports at sign-up. Out: sessions and invoices as CSV, invoices and the appraisal pack as PDF, and the whole account as JSON with a manifest of your document files (the files themselves download from their own pages, except message attachments, which support supplies on request), on every plan; expense and earnings CSV exports on Plus and Pro; Xero sync and a REST API on Pro. Deleting the account offers the export first and erases after a 30-day cooling-off period. [2][1]
- LocumDeck
- Not confirmed
Exports and importing existing records are not described in the documents we could read. [5][4]
- Locum Organiser
- Not confirmed
"Collate it all for tax" is stated. Export formats and importing existing records are not described on the pages we read. [8][9]
Questions GP locums ask about this software
What is the cheapest GP locum software?
Of the published monthly fees on this page, airGP's is the lowest at £9.99 a month, or £7.99 for the first year with the code on its home page, before its optional £4.99 a month Making Tax Digital add-on. My Locum Manager is £14 a month, Sessional Plus £14.99 a month and Locum Organiser £15.99 a month. LocumDeck's £12 a month plus £15 per Instant Book session comes from NASGP's April 2024 pricing document and is not confirmed as current. Sessional Basic is free with no end date, but capped each month.
What is a good alternative to LocumDeck?
It depends on why you use it. If being booked by practices you do not yet work for is the point, airGP's shift board, My Locum Manager's shift sharing and Locum Organiser's link to Lantum jobs are the nearest alternatives on this page. If you mainly need invoices, pension forms and tax records, Locum Organiser, My Locum Manager, airGP and Sessional all put administration first or alongside booking.
Which GP locum software produces Form SOLO?
Locum Organiser and My Locum Manager both state that they complete Form SOLO. Sessional does not produce it, airGP states that it does not generate PDF pension forms, and LocumDeck's documents do not say.
Which is best for a GP locum in Scotland or Northern Ireland?
My Locum Manager says its forms are optimised for England and Wales, Scotland and Northern Ireland. Sessional fills the NSS Form A and Form B for Scotland and gives Northern Ireland locums a transcription sheet to copy onto the HSC templates. airGP's pension support is for practices in England using PCSE Online.
Which GP locum software chases unpaid invoices automatically?
Of the five, only Sessional states that it chases overdue invoices automatically: on Plus and Pro, by email at day 14, 21 and 28, with the original PDF attached. We could not find automatic reminders to the practice on the other vendors' pages, which is not the same as saying they lack them.
These answers restate the sourced cells above, as read on the dates shown in the sources below.
Sources
- Sessional: Sessional pricing page, read on 14 September 2026.
- Sessional: Sessional features page, read on 14 September 2026.
- Sessional: Sessional help: NHS pension forms, read on 14 September 2026.
Sessional is the publisher of this page. Its own cells are statements about its own product, not independent evidence.
- LocumDeck: NASGP, LocumDeck pricing document on the G-Cloud 14 Digital Marketplace (dated 30 April 2024), read on 14 September 2026.
Written by NASGP for public sector buyers. Dated April 2024, so prices may have moved; NASGP's own membership page could not be read without signing in on the day we checked.
- LocumDeck: LocumDeck listing on the G-Cloud 14 Digital Marketplace, read on 14 September 2026.
- LocumDeck: NASGP, LocumDeck page, read on 14 September 2026.
On 14 September 2026 the page served only its title as readable text to a visitor who was not signed in, so nothing on this page is cited from it.
- LocumDeck: NASGP, professional membership options, read on 14 September 2026.
On 14 September 2026 the page served only its title as readable text to a visitor who was not signed in, so current membership prices could not be verified from it.
- Locum Organiser: Locum Organiser home page, read on 14 September 2026.
- Locum Organiser: Locum Organiser, how it works, read on 14 September 2026.
- Locum Organiser: Locum Organiser, how much does it cost, read on 14 September 2026.
- My Locum Manager: My Locum Manager home page, read on 14 September 2026.
- My Locum Manager: My Locum Manager features, read on 14 September 2026.
- My Locum Manager: My Locum Manager pricing, read on 14 September 2026.
- My Locum Manager: My Locum Manager FAQ, read on 14 September 2026.
- airGP: airGP home page (features, pricing and FAQ sections), read on 14 September 2026.
- airGP: airGP support, read on 14 September 2026.
- airGP: airGP, introducing airGP, read on 14 September 2026.
How this page is made.
We read each vendor's own public pages and documents on the dates shown, quoted them where the wording matters, and marked a feature confirmed only when the vendor's own material states it. Prices are the vendor's published prices on the day we read them; 'a year at the monthly rate' means twelve paid months at the quoted standard monthly rate, excluding trials, promotions, referrals and pauses, so it ignores any annual discount a vendor offers but does not publish. LocumDeck's figures come from NASGP's April 2024 pricing document because NASGP's own membership page served only its title as readable text on the day we checked. We do not run other vendors' software, so speed, reliability and support quality are outside this page. Sessional's cells describe Sessional; we are not a neutral judge of our own product.
If Sessional is the wrong fit for you, the sections above say so; if it might be right, Basic is free and needs no card.